

# **History and Geography Study Guide 1: National Capitals**

Directions: The capitals of countries are some of the most frequently referenced clues in questions not only for the International Geography Bee, but also in questions for the International History Bee and Bowl. In IHBB tournaments, questions are asked about the history of all parts of the world. Very often, when we ask about the history of a country (for example, where the answer is "Sweden"), the question will mention the name of its capital (for example, "Name this country where museums dedicated to the band ABBA and a ship named for the royal House of Vasa can be found in its capital of Stockholm."). Study the Level 1 countries and their capitals first, as they are the most famous and most frequently referenced. Then move on to Level 2, and learn those before moving on to Level 3. Remember, that in the History Bowl, having different team members be responsible for learning the capitals of different parts of the world (especially at Levels 3-5) can be an efficient and effective strategy for making sure your team is well-prepared and has this material mastered. Pronunciation guides are included for certain cities (shown as pr. xxxxx). It is important these are learned as well as pronunciation needs to be close enough for an answer to be deemed correct.

### Level 1 – 13 countries

Americas	Asia	Europe	Europe
Brazil – Brasilia	China – Beijing	France – Paris	Italy – Rome
Mexico – Mexico City	India – New Delhi	Germany – Berlin	Russia – Moscow
USA – Washington, DC	Japan – Tokyo	Greece – Athens	Spain – Madrid
		United Kingdom – Lo	ndon

### Level 2 – 31 countries

Argentina – Buenos Aires

Asia

Iran - Tehran

**Americas** 

Africa

Fgynt - Cairo

Ireland - Dublin

Lgypt Cano	Algeritina Duchos Alies	iran icinan
Kenya - Nairobi	Canada – Ottawa	Israel – Jerusalem
South Africa 1 – Cape Town	Chile – Santiago	Pakistan – Islamabad
(Cape Town is the legislative capital)	Colombia – Bogotá	Philippines – Manila
	Cuba – Havana	South Korea – Seoul (pr. SOLE)
	Peru – Lima	Thailand – Bangkok
		Turkey – Ankara
Europe	Europe	Oceania
<b>Europe</b> Austria – Vienna	<b>Europe</b> Norway – Oslo	<b>Oceania</b> Australia – Canberra
•	•	
Austria – Vienna	Norway – Oslo	Australia – Canberra
Austria – Vienna Belgium – Brussels	Norway – Oslo Poland – Warsaw	Australia – Canberra
Austria – Vienna Belgium – Brussels Czech Republic – Prague (pr. PRAHG)	Norway – Oslo Poland – Warsaw Portugal – Lisbon	Australia – Canberra
Austria – Vienna Belgium – Brussels Czech Republic – Prague (pr. PRAHG) Denmark – Copenhagen	Norway – Oslo Poland – Warsaw Portugal – Lisbon Sweden – Stockholm	Australia – Canberra

## Level 3 – 26 countries

Africa Americas Asia

Algeria – Algiers Bolivia 1 – La Paz Afghanistan – Kabul Ghana – Accra (La Paz is the executive capital) Indonesia – Jakarta Morocco – Rabat Ecuador – Quito Iraq – Baghdad

Nigeria – Abuja Jamaica – Kingston Malaysia 1 – Kuala Lumpur South Africa 2 – Pretoria Venezuela – Caracas (Kuala Lumpur is the legislative capital)

(Pretoria is the executive capital) Qatar – Doha

Saudi Arabia – Riyadh (pr. REE-yahd)

Sri Lanka 1 – Colombo (Colombo is the executive capital)

EuropeEuropeSyria – DamascusCroatia – ZagrebRomania - BucharestTaiwan – Taipei

Cyprus – Nicosia Serbia – Belgrade United Arab Emirates – Abu Dhabi

Iceland – Reykjavik (pr. RIKE-yah-vik) Slovakia - Bratislava Vietnam – Hanoi

### **Level 4 – 28 countries**

Africa Americas

Democratic Republic of Congo – Kinshasa Dominican Republic – Santo Domingo

Ethiopia – Addis Ababa Costa Rica – San Jose Libya – Tripoli Nicaragua – Managua

Mali – Bamako Paraguay – Asuncion (pr. ah-sun-see-OAN) Senegal – Dakar Trinidad and Tobago – Port of Spain

Somalia – Mogadishu Uruguay – Montevideo

Tunisia – Tunis

Zimbabwe – Harare (pr. hah-RAH-ray)

Asia Europe

Bangladesh – Dhaka Belarus – Minsk

Cambodia – Phnom Penh Bosnia & Herzegovina – Sarajevo (pr. sarah-YAY-voe)

Kazakhstan – AstanaBulgaria – SofiaLebanon – Beirut (pr. bay-ROOT)Estonia – TallinnMongolia – Ulan BataarLatvia – RigaNepal – Kathmandu (pr. cat-man-DOO)Lithuania – Vilnius

North Korea – Pyongyang Slovenia – Ljubljana (pr. Lyoob-LYAH-nah)

### **Level 5 – 25 Countries**

**Africa** 

Angola – Luanda

Ivory Coast – Yamoussoukro

Liberia – Monrovia

Madagascar – Antananarivo

Rwanda – Kigali

Sudan – Khartoum (pr. car-TOOM)

Tanzania - Dodoma

**Americas** 

Bahamas – Nassau

Bolivia 2 — Sucre (pr. SOO-cray) (Sucre is the judicial capital)

Honduras – Tegucigalpa

Suriname – Paramaribo

Asia

Armenia – Yerevan

Azerbaijan – Baku

Georgia – Tbilisi

Jordan – Amman

Kyrgyzstan (pr. KEER-ghiz-stan) Bishkek

Laos – Vientiane (pr. vee-en-tee-AHN)

Maldives - Male (pr. MAH-lay)

Myanmar - Naypyidaw

Oman – Muscat

Yemen - Sana'a (see note 9 below)

Europe

Albania - Tirana

Kosovo – Pristina

Malta – Valletta

North Macedonia – Skopje (pr. SCOPE-yeh)

#### **Notes**

- 1. Consider using a map or globe while learning these capitals and countries. Knowing their location on a map is very helpful for gaining an understanding of world history and geography.
- 2. Certainly, other world capitals are referenced in clues and (more rarely) are answers to questions themselves. However, outside of Championship level geography competitions, these do not come up at a frequency where they should be a primary target for studying.
- 3. Remember that some countries do not have separately named cities as their capitals (e.g. Singapore, San Marino, Monaco), contain the name of their country in their capital (e.g. Kuwait City, Guatemala City) or are very similarly named (e.g. Andorra's capital is Andorra la Vella). These countries certainly may be referenced, but their capital names are not particularly useful clues so they are not listed above.
- 4. Many other countries' most famous or most populous cities are not referenced here. For example, Dar es Salaam is a larger and more famous city, and more frequently referenced than Dodoma for questions on Tanzania. So be sure not to neglect other cities in your preparation.
- 5. Note that certain countries have two separate capital cities and one country (South Africa) has three separate capitals. Some of these are listed above along with their function, but not all of them are important enough to warrant inclusion here.
- 6. Some countries are found on two continents (e.g. Russia and Turkey), but we have placed such countries in only one list here for sake of clarity.
- 7. Kosovo and Taiwan are not recognized as countries by many nations, but are de facto countries, and are often referred to as such in IAC questions.
- 8. Ivory Coast is often known by its official French name of Côte d'Ivoire (pr. coat div-WAH). Both names of the country, French and English, may be referenced in questions.
- 9. Sana'a is the official capital of Yemen, but it has been occupied by a rebel group since 2015 and since then, Aden has been the acting capital.